|
From: Rich on 23 Jan 2008 10:27 On 2008.01.23. 17:17, Twayne wrote: .... > Vishal, > > Since there is no way to know who this is and he seems completely > unknown to the group, I would simply ignore him, or if you know how to > parse headers, issue a complaint if there are forgeries in any of the > headers. > Newsgroups are favorite plaes for robots and crawlers to scrape > e-mail addresses. Since we have to use our real e-mail addresses it > makes it easy for bots and crawlers to find the adresses if they get > past the defenses in place, whatever they are. > If the headers and the given address can be believed , and I think > they can, the mail came from Taiwan (.tw). It appears he may not > realize he's technically spamming but I've already received two of his > mails, identical to your, and if I get a third I will LART him with > prejudice unless there are no forged headers, in which case he'll get > one more chance to stop mailing me along with a form not to him about > his spamming. i have received 3 or 4 emails of this type to my personal email, now this. both from formatting and contents they seem very suspicious, more like an actual spam/scam. quite annoying. > From the X-Headers, it looks like they use Ironport's Spamcop.net for > spam detection, and that's a very useful outfit. They are good at > stopping it, but not prefect; sometimes things get by them. The spam > score appears they just barely scraped past the filters with the spams > to the group. > My advice right now would be to simply ignore it and delete/mark it > read, since there's no way of knowing what the guy is recording in > addition to his survey. > > HTH > > Twayne -- Rich --------------------------------------------------------------------- To unsubscribe, e-mail: discuss-unsubscribe(a)openoffice.org For additional commands, e-mail: discuss-help(a)openoffice.org
|
Pages: 1 Prev: [discuss] Iss Submit Q Re: OOo General Problems Next: Iss Submit Q Re: OOo General Problems |